MAY UPDATE

Senate HELP Committee Passes S. 2311

The Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions (HELP) Committee voted to approve the Ryan White CARE Act Amendments of 2000 (S. 2311) at its full committee meeting on Wednesday, April 12. The bill now goes to the full Senate for consideration.

32 Senators on as Co-sponsors of S. 2311 Senators

As of May 16, 2000, a bi-partisan group of 32 Senators have signed on as co-sponsors of S.2311.

Co-sponsoring Senators include:

- Evan Bayh, D-IN
- Robert Bennett, R-UT
- Joseph Biden, D-DE
- Jeff Bingaman, D-NM
- John B. Breaux, D-LA
- Lincoln D. Chafee, R-RI
- Max Cleland, D-GA
- Susan M. Collins, R-ME
- Christopher J. Dodd, D-CT
- Richard J. Durbin, D-IL
- Michael B. Enzi, R-WY
- Bill Frist, R-TN
- Slade Gorton, R-WA
- Judd Gregg, R-NH
- Tom Harkin, D-IA
- Orrin G. Hatch, R-UT
- Daniel K.Inouye, D-HI
- Edward M. Kennedy, D-MA
- John F. Kerry, D-MA
- Frank R. Lautenberg, D-NJ
- Joseph I. Lieberman, D-CT
- Richard G. Lugar, R-IN
- Barbara A.Mikulski, D-MD
- Daniel Patrick Moynihan, D-NY

- Patty Murray, D-WA
- Jack Reed, D-RI
- Charles S. Robb, D-VA
- Paul S. Sarbanes, D-MD
- Charles E. Schumer, D-NY
- John W. Warner, R-VA
- Paul D. Wellstone, D-MN
- Ron Wyden, D-OR

If your Senators <u>are not</u> on this list, write or call them and urge them to sign-on as a co-sponsor immediately. If your Senators <u>are</u> on this list, write or call them and thank them for signing on and urge them to support swift Senate action.

Call 202-224-3121 for the Capitol Switchboard. The bill is available on the Internet at http://thomas.loc.gov.

House Reauthorization Bill Still Under Development

Representative Tom Coburn (R-OK) is drafting a House reauthorization bill. CAEAR Coalition leadership and The Sheridan Group are working with Mr. Coburn and his staff in hopes of resolving outstanding issues prior to the bill's introduction.

FY 2001 Appropriations Process in Full Swing

Both the Senate and House Labor, Health and Human Services Appropriations Subcommittees marked-up their FY2001 appropriations. The Senate numbers for Title I and Title III of the CARE Act are substantially below the House numbers and the President's request (please see attached chart). The full Appropriations Committee in the Senate has also acted on the CARE Act FY2001 Appropriations. Senators, particularly members of the Appropriations Committee (please see attached list), should be contacted and urged to support increases to bring the Senate numbers up to the level of the House numbers.

Spring 2000 Business Meeting and Advocacy Days

There's still time to register for the Spring Business Meeting and Advocacy Days. The Business Meeting will be Sunday, May 21, and Monday, May 22, at the Hotel Washington. Advocacy Days will follow on Tuesday, May 23, and Wednesday, May 24, on Capitol Hill. You can register by faxing your registration forms to 202-789-4277 or calling the CAEAR Coalition office at 202-789-3565.

A highlight of the meeting will be a presentation on Monday by Victoria Cargill, MD, M.S.C.E., Director of Minority Research, Director of Clinical Studies, Office of AIDS Research, National Institutes of Health. Entitled *HAART Therapy in the Real World; When Treatment and Needs Collide*, the presentation will be followed by a panel of consumers who will respond to the information presented.

CARE Now Campaign

Over 250 CARE Now Reauthorization Action Kits have been shipped to CARE Act advocates across the country. The kits include postcards for constituents to send to members of Congress, posters, stickers and grassroots education materials. The poster and postcards are available in Spanish. Some materials are still available; we just reordered a large batch of postcards for sending to members of the House of Representatives. If you need materials please contact the CAEAR Coalition office at 202-789-3565 or info@caear.org.

Grants Allow CAEAR Coalition To Expand Activities

DuPont Pharmaceuticals made a \$12,500 grant to the Coalition to support the educational component of the Spring 2000 Business Meeting and to help with general operating expenses.

A \$10,000 grant from The New York Community Trust will allow New York residents with HIV to travel to Washington to participate in Coalition activities.

These grants are signs of the strong support that exists for the Coalition's mission. All members received fundraising/development resources in March to assist with local fundraising efforts to build on these gifts. If you need any assistance with those local efforts, please call Jeff Travers or Scott Sanders at High Noon Communications (202-332-2303) who are working with the Coalition on these efforts.

FY 2001 Ryan White CARE Act Program

(Increases or decreases from previous year are shown in parentheses)					
PROGRAM	FY 2000	FY 2001	FY 2001	FY 2001	FY 2001
	Final	CAEAR	President's	House	Senate
		Request	Budget Request	Appropriations	Appropriations
			2/7/00	Subcommittee	Committee
				5/10/00	5/11/00
HRSA: Ryan White	\$1,594.8m	N/A	\$1,719.8m	\$1,725m	\$1,650.0m
CARE Act Total			(+\$125.0m)	(+\$130.45m)	(+\$55.45m)
Title I	\$546.6m	\$635m	\$586.6m	\$586.5m	\$556.6m
			(+\$40.0m)	(+\$40.0m)	(+\$10.0m)
Title II: Care	¢00/ 1		\$310.1m	\$310.0m	\$296.0m
Services	\$296.1m	N/A	(+\$14.0m)	(+\$14.0)	(+\$0)
Title II: ADAP	4500		\$554.0m	\$554.0m	\$538.0m
	\$528m	N/A	(+\$26.0m)	(+\$26.0m)	(+\$10.0m)
Fitle III	¢100.4mm	¢104m	\$171.4m	\$173.9m	\$166.4
	\$138.4m	\$184m	(+\$33.0m)	(+\$35.5)	(+\$28.0m)
Title IV	\$51m N/A		\$60.0m	\$60.0m	\$58.45m
		(+\$9.0m)	(+\$9.0m)	(+\$7.45m)	
Part F: AETCs	¢) (7 m N	N1/A	\$29.2m	\$31.6m	\$26.65m
	\$26.7m	N/A	(+\$2.5m)	(+\$4.95m)	(+\$0)
Part F: Dental	¢Om	N1/A	\$8.5m	\$9.0m	\$8.0m
Reimbursement	\$8m	N/A	(+\$0.5m)	(+\$1.0m)	(+\$0)

....

SENATE APPROPRIATORS

Robert Bennett, R-UT Christopher S. Bond, R-MO Conrad Burns, R-MT Robert Byrd, D-WV, Ranking Member Ben Nighthorse Campbell, R-CO Thad Cochran, R-MS Larry Craig, R-ID Pete V. Domenici, R-NM Byron Dorgan, D-ND Richard Durbin, D-IL Dianne Feinstein, D-CA Slade Gorton, R-WA Judd Gregg, R-NH Tom Harkin, D-IA

Ernest F. Hollings, D-SC Kay Bailey Hutchison, R-TX Daniel K. Inouye, D-HI Herb Kohl, D-WI Jon Kyl, R-AZ Frank R. Lautenberg, D-NJ Patrick J. Leahy, D-VT Mitch McConnell, R-KY Barbara A. Mikulski, D-MD Patty Murray, D-WA Harry Reid, D-NV Richard C. Shelby, R-AL Arlen Specter, R-PA Ted Stevens, R-AK, Chair